Crab Cake Review

07 Dec

Dockside Classics

Rate this item
(30 votes)
Dockside Classics Packaging Dockside Classics Packaging Crab Cake Review

Real crab cakes can be hard to find in the off-season, especially if you expect it to contain any precious Maryland Blue crab.  So when you are walking through the grocery store and spy a new brand of crab cake, the words "made with real crab meat" might pique your interest.  And if you are super proud of your country, then the "Made in USA!" will have that package jumping into your cart in no time.  Found at my local Giant supermarket, I decided to fight terrorism the only way I know how -- by eating crab cakes.  How were they?  Continue on and find out!

Dockside Classic's crab cakes are made with a mixture of crab meat, crab surimi (Alaskan pollock and/or whiting), mayonnaise, bread crumbs, wheat, flour, celery, onions, peppers, milk, butter, salt, margarine, tomato paste, egg whites and assorted seasonings.  Maybe by Seafood America in Warminster, PA, and found at my local Giant in the refrigerated seafood section.  Cakes are 3 oz each, and also comes with a 2 oz cup of cocktail sauce.

The "best" cooking instruction is to bake at 400 degrees F for 16 minutes.  Otherwise, you can microwave them for 1 minute on high.  Because there are 4, we tried cooking one in oil at medium-high for 3 minutes one side, 2 minutes on the other.  Because we're daredevils like that.  True honey badgers to the core.

First thing you notice about these cakes when you first open the package is the odd fishy smell from the crab surimi (AKA "crab with a 'k'" -- krab).  It's very offputting and does not bode well for maintaing your appetite.  But this is for America, so we solider on!

The CCR would highly recommend you not cook these by way of sauteeing/frying.  The cake likes to spatter and explode while it is cooking, and the outside burns WAY too easily.  Unless you happen to like Cajun blackened crab cakes, you might just want to stick to the recommended instructions.

So now we have our crab cakes, fresh out of the oven.  Right when you thought you were out of the woods, that fish smell from earlier decides to make another appearance.  This time, it's a bit sneaky.  We couldn't really smell it when we pulled them from the oven.  But we did notice the smell upon cutting into the crab cake itself.  Joy.

The cake is thick and bready, but still fragile when removing it from the cookie sheet.  No visible crab in the cake save for one or two strands here and there.  Texture is very soft and mushy, with bits of onion and  celery floating about.  The taste is just not right.  So horribly wrong that I would fear giving this to that band of racoons out by the dumpster as they may take note as to where I live.  That cup of cocktail sauce doesn't do enough to mask the flavor.

For this, I award Dockside Classics with my first ever 0 crab rating.  The terrorists truly have won with this one.  Next time you see these at the supermarket, save your money, keep calm, and carry on.

Have you tried Dockside Classics' Crab Cakes?  Let us know about it in the comments! 

Additional Info

  • Restaurant Name: Dockside Classics
  • Address: Distribution varies. Found at Giant Supermarket
  • Neighborhood: Crofton
  • Restaurant Type: Retail
  • Review Date: 10/22/2011 7:24pm
  • Item(s) Ordered: Dockside Classics Crab Cakes
  • Cooking Style: Broiled and Fried (1 each)
  • Other Styles Available: No
  • Available by mail order?: No
  • Price: 7.99
  • Order Type: Store Bought
  • Crab Content: Mix
  • Filler: Too Much
  • Spice: Above Average
  • Overall Impression: Stay Away
  • Rating (out of 5 crabs):

    half-crab

Comments   

 
# F Mitch 2014-07-13 11:29
I tried your stuffed shrimp stuffed with real crabmeat. What a joke stuffed with real bread.
 
 
# S Winn 2014-06-24 10:21
The photo on package had more crab than the cakes we had - should be named "bread cakes". One of the worst experiences for crab cakes ever!!!
 
 
# chuck 2014-06-23 21:46
What are you people talking about! $18 for crab or lobster cakes is stealing I don;t care how good they are if you have to cook them. These cakes are made right at the dock factory so if you smell fishy it was because somebody didn't treat them right in transit. I've been eating the crab and lobster cakes since they came out and I haven't even had lobster at Red Lobster that tasted that good or tender. BTW I have never paid over $8 for the 4 cakes and you can't make them from scratch for that price. I lived 5 years in Alaska so I know what you crab taste like, this isn't bad at all.
 
 
# KEN 2014-06-11 20:39
The worse food experience I've had since eating homemade warm yogurt in Turkey. The diarrhea I got from that experience was better than eating these things called crab cakes. At least the yogurt tasted like yogurt. Just nasty.
 
 
+1 # Alice Spainhour 2014-06-06 20:54
I am a elderly lady looking for something easy that I liked for dinner. I fixed them for my dinner and they were terrible. All bread and I didn't find not one piece of crab and they were really salty. I think you should refund my money since I am on a very limited income. This could have been something good for me that I really liked. I bought them a long time ago and I really liked them and I was so glad when I discovered them again.
 
 
+1 # Greg 2014-05-21 07:31
KM, You are missing the point here. It's simply false advertising, it's stealing. It offends me that they use the "made in the USA" claim. As a business owner, I would want to hear what my customers think about my product. Really they don't care about you or anyone else, they mislead and take your money. This is trash food.
 
 
# Kevin 2014-05-15 22:53
WOW - Here it is in 2014, and they are still turning out a very inferior product!

The end result looks nothing like the picture on the carton.

This company should be ashamed of themselves!

I will be taking this matter up with the manager of my local grocery store.

Hopefully, Safeway Corporate will decide to discontinue carrying this disappointing product, that is if this can even be called a "product."
 
 
+1 # KM 2014-05-06 14:56
ok, my boyfriend and I actually really liked these -- not sure why everyone is so negative toward them....i mean, lets face it, it's a refrigerated crab cake -- how extravagant do you truly think it could be? But seriously, go ahead and pay the 20 bucks at a restaurant if you want the real thing and stop crying about it on here....you're literally paying 6 or 7 bucks for 4 cakes -- pretty sure there's far worse things in this world to be complaining about.
 
 
+2 # Greg 2014-05-02 21:20
My email to the company:I rarely write about something as trivial as frozen crab cakes, but I found your product down right infuriating. I added a photo of your box. The photo on the right is what this consumer actually received. The price on this seafood flavored dough was around $18. At that price, I expected more than a typical TV dinner made for 10 year olds. What really angers is that you proudly reassure us (the consumer) that it is made in the USA. Is this the best you can do? Where is your pride? I own a business and the number one priority is the customer. I would have gladly paid more than $18 for this if it was as the package advertised. We could not detect a single ingredient remotely close to crab meat. It's gooey fish flavored dough, thats what you sell. I'm that rare weirdo that will take the time to let you know. It should matter to you. From here on out I will alway avoid Dockside Classic and most likely any seafood from PA. I'm sure I'm not the only one,
 
 
+1 # Greg 2014-05-02 21:15
So bad I actually wrote to the company in a bid for them to perhaps save themselves. I bought the mini cakes with 24 total. The box photo looked great, but what you get is crab flavored dough, I was angry since they proudly claim that its made in the USA, how embarrassing. Our cat wouldn't eat them! I will now avoid any seafood from PA in fear that Dockside may have contributed to the product, Dockside has no pride.
 
 
+2 # larry 2014-04-14 09:37
I have been foolish enough to try these three times, expacting thay my bad experience was due to a bad lot. I now know that tese are the worst item I have ever seen in Giant food stores, and have told them they should discontinue, but to no avail.
Degrades the market to continue offering them.
 
 
+1 # kim 2014-05-02 21:31
Larry, I wonder what possessed you to try it more than once as I'm still traumatized by the overly disappointing experience with the product. Glad you finally saw the light to not consume any more.
 
 
+1 # matt 2014-04-13 19:30
My Lord these Crab Cakes were SOSO BAD! I searched for a site to warn the world. There is less crab meat in these cakes than a blueberry muffin. More than a waste of money, these crab cakes are a crime and this company should be forced to pay everyone back and maybe wash their car. You could not do worse than these Dockside Classic crab cakes,the absolute worst kind of product, stay away.
 
 
# kim 2014-04-23 23:57
[quote name="matt"] Matt, I am SOSO with you on this one. Taking a bite of this crab cake almost made me cry. I was looking forward to a good crab cake. I got it from Safeway. On packaging it states made with real crab and the first ingredient listed is crab meat. That is not possible. I can't even taste crab and it looks and taste all like breading.the FDA should be inspecting the ingredients and making of the product because this company right HERE lies lies lies. Super unhappy after a great workout too. Feel like I set myself back eating 2. Threw the other 2 away!
 
 
+3 # Rod 2014-04-04 20:26
I tried to give the crab cakes to my cat and he packed up and left home, haven't seen him since.
 
 
# KEN 2014-06-11 20:52
I am going to feed mine to my dogs. I hope they don't run away.
 
 
+1 # lisa williams 2014-03-13 20:20
One of THEE WORST crabcakes I have EVER tasted in my life! The crabmeat is invisible! Total waste of money.
 
 
# peg 2014-03-05 20:34
I thought the crab cakes were pretty good. I only came to this site because I wanted to email my sister the good thing that I found. I am surprised at all the negative reviews here.

I paid 6.99 at Kroger and appreciated that the cocktail sauce was included. I thought they cooked up to be a little soft. Maybe will add a few more minutes to the oven time next time. Other than that, good stuff. I'll buy them again.
 
 
# kim 2014-04-24 00:01
[quote name="peg"] You must work or support someone that works for the deceitful company....or you don't eat crab. This is worst than the imitation crab stores sell.
 
 
# Stephen 2014-03-03 11:32
Ditto to all the negative comments already written. I've tried all 3 products, Crab/Lobster cakes and the stuffed shrimp. Very, very disappointing. No taste in the cakes, other than the stuffing and the stuffed shrimps were all stuffing and the smallest shrimp possible. Bought them all on sale and it was still a waste of money. I still prefer the blue crab cakes from Whole Foods. About $8 a cake but worth it.
 
 
# Larry 2014-02-25 17:51
An earlier comment is correct. About a year ago they were outstanding, as were the lobster cakes. Now they are very poor.
Someone ruined them to save a buck. Sad. They were great once.
 
 
# BRENDA 2014-02-11 12:32
i want my money back i brought the crabs and the shrimp i will never buy this again what a rip off
 
 
+1 # John 2014-01-01 20:28
Quoting Lisa Gjertsen:
Terrible. no other words needed.

What a disappointment!
 
 
+1 # Lisa Gjertsen 2013-12-15 18:52
Terrible. no other words needed.
 
 
+2 # Tonya 2013-10-13 22:30
What a waste of money. I cooked the first 2 cakes and passed out. Burnt to a crisp. So, the next day, I cooked them properly and let me say, I'm not so upset about the two wasted cakes. These are the worst. I will be buying REAL crab meat to make my own as I usually do. I dug through the cake to find a piece of meat because I was skeptical that there was any in it at all. When I found a piece, I was not happy to find that is was imitation crab meat, since the package states that it is made with "real crabmeat." If it is crabmeat, I don't know what they do to it to make it the same texture as imitation. Never again. I thought I was getting what was pictured on the package. False advertising at its best...
 
 
+4 # Jerry Nolan 2013-08-18 00:30
You crab cake people must be the snobbiest bunch around. Maybe my standards are a bit lower than all the gourmets on this site, having eaten my share of low-end food during my Navy career, but I thought these crab cakes were pretty decent for the price ($7.99 impulse buy at Food Lion). Would have been nice if they had firmed up a bit more while cooking, So they didn't look like the box illustration. Ever compare your Big Mac to the picture behind the counter at McDonalds's? Face it, if you want a really knock-out serving of crab cakes you ain't gonna get it from a package at your grocery store.
 
 
# KEN 2014-06-11 20:48
I am glad I ate Air Force food for 23 years instead of Navy. Maybe my taste buds are a bit more sophisticated, but those things were not crab cakes.
 
 
+2 # Potato chip 2013-08-01 22:24
Thiis was a huge disappointment for $10. I could have purchased lump crabmeat for $16 and made crab cakes. Don't be fooled spend the money and don' opt for a quick meal. Sorry Dockside, but you suck, A~~"
 
 
+1 # uneek thinks 2013-07-13 16:49
There ought to be a law against the misrepresentati on of Food.These crab cakes are the worst I have ever tasted. The ingredients are supposed to be in the order of importance but that cannot be true in this case.I wish that I would have read these reviews before I bought .I am going to tell my Kroger store to stop carrying such an inferior product.
 
 
+2 # Esther 2013-07-08 17:53
These sucked. I just emailed Seaside America and told them they should remove these from their line. I'll be contacting my grocery store too. NO FREAKING CRAB!
 
 
# kim 2014-04-24 00:04
[quote name="Esther"] Great idea Esther. I added a comment a bit earlier, but what sold me was the fact they were by the real seafood at SAFEWAY. Horrible. I will be contacting Safeway.
 
 
+1 # Candice Harris 2013-05-15 16:54
Sorry but theses are terrible! The photo on the front of the package is very misleading, it shows pieces of crab, the ones in the package looked like hockey pucs,and tasted nearly as bad, and I could not find even one piece of crab in four cakes. I will stick to the ones I get at my local fish market from now on. I will never buy these again. My cat would not even eat them!
 
 
+1 # Linda 2013-05-14 19:54
The first few times I bought the crabcakes they had some crabmeat-now it is primarily cornbread. I am so disappointed the quality is not there anymore. I would not buy any more of this product.
 
 
+2 # Joanna Richards 2013-02-13 13:46
4 Gourmet Lobster Cakes? This is the biggest bunch of ground up trash I have ever tasted! What is in this supposed crab cake? I read the ingredients and tasted the trash, and I have to say...no comparison comes to mind.
Ths stuff should be taken off the market immediately!
Just read your rules so I suppose you will consider my honest opinion in appropriate.
 
 
+2 # Kim 2013-01-17 16:27
I wish I would have read these comments before I bought them. I have hunted for good crab cakes for years. (I used to work at a seafood restaurant in Virginia and they had the most wonderful ones.) I heated these up and anticipated way too much I guess. Mushy fishy, just plain YUK! I couldn't find crab meat even though it says made with real crabmeat. Another disappointment. And, it really does not matter how much they cost: it's the fact that they cost anything at all. I doubt that they would make good catfood!
 
 
+3 # Flash Gordon 2013-01-06 09:19
Dockside Classics, "4 Premium Crab Cakes" - a classic example of false advertising!! Any relationship between 'Crab Cakes' and what was contained in Seafood America's package was not purely coincidental, but, in fact, non-existent!!! Don't waste your money on these cow chips!!
 
 
+2 # Connie 2012-12-25 21:31
Honestly, I thought they were good for what they were. All of you whiners, what were you expecting from pre-made, reheated crab cakes from your grocery store? The most disappointing thing here is all of you being so dumb to expect to swallow a lump of coal and shit out a diamond.
 
 
+2 # SARAH GRAY 2013-05-22 19:14
FOR $7.99 I did expect to find some resemblance to a crab cake.......What happened to truth in advertising!!! what a joke.......Dock side, you should be ashamed.....
 
 
# KEN 2014-06-11 20:57
If you are going to sell shit, then call it shit. Don't try to pass it off as something else.
 
 
+4 # Judi Kirsch 2012-11-11 18:14
Talk about deceptive packaging, I couldn't believe my eyes
when I opened the package, It didn't resemble anything remotely
to the picture on the front. I did smell a fishy odor, and hoped it
wouldn't reflect on the flavor.
The texture was pure mush!
Yes I would buy this once, but not twice!!! Is this packing legal?
I have taken a picture of the package and the contents side by
side. It is amazing.
 
 
+2 # Janet T. 2012-11-10 21:24
I have had lots of crab cakes in my time including the wonderful Maryland crab cakes as well as in Alaska. This are one of the worst with far too much filling and not crab. What a waste of money--I will never buy them again!!!
 
 
+3 # Bobby 2012-10-20 20:45
I can't believe people say this is the best crab cake around... just by looking at the packaging photo that has the gall to say they enlarged to show texture, and then a look at the actual cake, will reveal the lies. The cake is bread-like in texture. it is more filler than anything. The photo shows huge chunks of visible crab. there is no such thing in the actual product. I am a professional chef with over 20 years of work experience. I know how to make a good crab cake, and it starts with more lump crab than any other ingredient. This was a horrible purchase, which I only made because of the huge markdown . now I know why it was on sale for three dollars.
 
 
+2 # Carole 2012-10-06 21:05
Horrible!! I will never buy these again! My Mom was so excited to have these, and within the first bite...her dissapointment was huge!
 
 
+1 # MISS LISA GAYE 2012-08-18 16:59
I think that one person is masquerading as a few different people and leaving multiple negative comments on this site. Dockside Classics are absolutely the best crab cakes for the money. I wish I could get them in my area. STOP HATING!!
 
 
+1 # Mark 2012-08-09 19:40
By far the best value crab cake on the market! You people that are expecting a pure jumbo lump crab cake but only want to spend 7.99 for 4 are insane. Do the math a can of jumbo lump crabmeat cost $35+ for 16 ounces and these crab cakes weigh 12 oz. people just like to complain to complain.
 
 
+3 # tkatt 2012-07-09 17:15
Just bought these. These "shits" are horrible. I've cooked all 4 and taking 3 back. There's no crab but an imitation taste. It will taste like stove top stuffing. Don't waste your money, $7.99.
 
 
+1 # Lee 2012-06-24 20:46
Package picture was closest thing to crab meat since the entire cake was like soggy stove top stuffing with weird fish/crab flavor, but no crab meat evident. Greasy, soggy, too salty and spicy. Packaging is complete misrepresentati on of contents. I'll mention this to the store manager--can't believe anyone buys them a second time.
 
 
+1 # Carol 2012-06-23 19:03
Gee, if I had read these comments before I tried the crabcakes I might not have bought them. As it is, we had them for dinner this evening and thought they were pretty darn good. It's not as if I expected 4 gourmet crab cakes for just $5.99
 
 
+1 # Joyce 2012-05-27 19:33
Today I bought these cornbread cakes! Very very dissappointed! I have yet to see a shred of crabmeat....the y are very salty...so much so I needed to drink tons of water to eliminate the burn you get when you consume too much salt! I spent 6.49 for 4 cornbread patties...next time I'll just spend the extra money, buy the crabmeat and make my own. These truly need to taken off the market as crabcakes! Oh and whose carbcakes did they take a pic of? Not theirs!
 
 
+1 # Mad! 2012-05-27 19:26
Today I bought these cornbread cakes! Very very dissappointed! I have yet to see a shred of crabmeat....the y are very salty...so much so I needed to drink tons of water to eliminate the burn you get when you consume too much salt! I spent 6.49 for 4 cornbread patties...next time I'll just spend the extra money, buy the crabmeat and make my own. These truly need to taken off the market as crabcakes!
 
 
+1 # LB 2012-05-27 15:04
Wish I saw your review before I bought this trash. Tasted like a mushy hushpuppy with essence of fishy something or other. Should've read the ingredients; second one was fake crab that they even had to add MSG to.
Packaging is one of the best examples of false advertising. Even without the "enlarged to show texture", there is no way what they show on the outside is what they put on the inside.
 
 
+2 # Clay 2012-05-08 21:28
How can I get my money back? I have not found one packaged lobster or crab cake that meets up to any expectation. These were no exception. All breading and barely enough lobster or crab to taste. What a waste. Where the hell is the quality food at? I will never buy this crap again. I don't understand why they all are cutting corners and selling us junk. NOTHING GOURMET ABOUT THIS GARBAGE BEING SOLD TO US.
 
 
+1 # Crab Cake Review 2012-02-19 12:35
@Donna: Fresh is usually the way to go. Whole Foods have some pretty good ones for a supermarket. But if you need to go frozen, the Philips ones haven't been too bad. Still looking to see if there are any others out there that would be decent, but having a hard time with that search. I'll keep looking, though!
 
 
+1 # Audrey Sikes 2012-02-16 15:56
I bought these classics crab cakes for valentines day ,along with two lobster tails frozen.I am 78 years young and having lived i LA,NC,TX. I know how to cook and love seafood. This was not anything like I have ever tasted. We put it down the disposal. The presentation was very pretty. If the cakes was as good as the pack age was pretty ummm!!! The lobster was not good either so we ate salad and baked potato.
 
 
+1 # Donna 2012-02-15 17:08
I completely agree with you - I won't even buy them with a super duper sale price. Have you ever found any really good ones?
 
 
-1 # Julie 2012-02-02 14:29
I couldn't disagree with this more we have been buying the Dockside Classics brand for nearly 3 years at our local ACME supermarket and have not been disapointed once.
 

© Crab Cake Review. All rights reserved.

Top Desktop version